Customers of Amazon who have signed up for the Amazon Prime service have been voicing their surprise and anger about being charged £79 a year to use it once the free trial expires.
A number of people claim they were unaware of the charge, and only recently realised that the money had been removed from their account after the controversial critic, Giles Coren, brought attention to it when he expressed his shock on Twitter.
Despite the charge apparently surprising a number of people, Amazon do state on their website that once the 30-day free trial ends, if you have not cancelled it then you will be charged. They say: “While you won’t be charged for your free trial, you’ll be automatically upgraded to a paid membership plan at the end of the trial period.”
They also say that all customers receive an email when they sign up to use Prime which explains its terms, such as its duration and how users can cancel their membership. However, for those who have been charged, Amazon said that refunds are available if you have not used any benefits that Prime offers.
There are millions of Amazon Prime users in the UK, which offers several features, such as free one-day delivery, unlimited photo storage and instant video streaming to computers, laptops, tablets or phones, using the internet.
If you wish to cancel your Amazon Prime subscription, you should click ‘Your Account’ select ‘Manage Prime Membership’ under the ‘Account Settings’ section. From there you should click either ‘End Membership’ or ‘Do Not Continue’.